Brillante Mendoza to compete at Cannes 2016

Brillante Mendoza to compete at Cannes 2016

MANILA – Filipino filmmaker Brillante Mendoza is set to compete for the Palme d’Or at the 2016 Cannes Film Festival once again after his movie “Ma’ Rosa” made it to the main competition line-up, it was announced Thursday.

Mendoza’s latest opus will compete with 38 other films from different countries, including “The Unknown Girl” from previous Palme d’Or winners Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne and “The Last Face,” directed by Oscar-winning actor Sean Penn

Not much is known about “Ma’ Rosa.” A trailer has yet to be released and Mendoza has yet to update his website with a synopsis for the film.

Last year, Mendoza was in Cannes with his Un Certain Regard entry, “Taklub,” a film about the survivors of super typhoon “Yolanda” starring Nora Aunor. He was previously in competition with his 2009 film “Kinatay” and his 2008 effort “Serbis.”

Meanwhile, Pinoy filmmaker Raymund Gutierrez, a student of Mendoza, will be representing the country in the Short Film Competition. His film, “Imago,” is the lone entry from Asia to make the shortlist.

Below is the complete lineup for this year’s Cannes Film Festival:

“Toni Erdman,” directed by Maren Ade
“Julieta,” directed by Pedro Almodovar
“Personal Shopper,” directed by Olivier Assayas
“American Honey,” directed by Andrea Arnold
“The Unknown Girl,” directed by Jean-Pierre Dardenne and Luc Dardenne
“It’s Only the End of the World,” directed by Xavier Dolan
“Slack Bay,” directed by Bruno Dumont
“Paterson,” directed by Jim Jarmusch
“Rester Vertical,” directed by Alain Guiraudie
“Aquarius,” directed by Kleber Mendonca Filho
“From the Land of the Moon,” directed by Nicole Garcia
“I, Daniel Blake,” directed by Ken Loach
“Ma’Rosa,” directed by Brillante Mendoza
“Bacalaureat,” directed by Cristian Mungiu
“Loving,” directed by Jeff Nichols
“Agassi,” directed by Park Chan-Wook
“The Last Face,” directed by Sean Penn
“Sieranevada,” directed by Cristi Puiu
“Elle,” directed by Paul Verhoeven
“The Neon Demon,” directed by Nicolas Winding Refn

Un Certain Regard
“Varoonegi,” directed by Behnam Behzadi
“Apprentice,” directed by Boo Junking
“Voir du Pays,” directed by Delphine Coulin and Muriel Coulin
“La Danseuse,” directed by Stephanie di Giusto
“Clash,” directed by Mohamed Diab
“La Tortue Rouge,” directed by Michael Dubok de Wit
“Fuchi Bi Tatsu,” directed by Fukada Koji
“Omar Shakhsiya,” directed by Maha Haj
“Me’Ever Laharim Vehagvaot,” directed by Eran Kolirin
“After The Storm,” directed by Kore-Eda Hirokazu
“Hymyileva Mies,” directed by Juho Kuosmanen
“La Large Noche de Francisco Sanctis,” directed by Francisco Marquez and Andrea Testa
“Caini,” directed by Bogdan Mirica
“Pericle Il Nero,” directed by Stefano Mordini
“Captain Fantastic,” directed by Matt Ross
“The Transfiguration,” directed by Michael O’Shea
“Uchenik,” directed by Kirill Serebrennikov

Out of Competition
“The BFG,” directed by Steven Spielberg
“Goksung,” directed by Na Hong-Jin
“Money Monster,” directed by Jodie Foster
“The Nice Guys,” directed by Shane Black

Special Screenings
‘L’ultima Spiaggia,” directed by Thanos Anastopoulous and Davide del Degan
“A Chad Tragedy,” directed by Mahamat-Saleh Haroun
“The Death of Louis XIV,” directed by Albert Serra
“Le Cancre,” directed by Paul Vecchiali

Midnight Screenings
“Gimme Danger,” directed by Jim Jarmusch
“The Train to Busan,” directed by Yeon Sang-Ho

Short Film Competition

“La Laine sur Le Dos,” directed by Lotfi Achour
“Dreamlands,” directed by Sara Dunlop
“Timecode,” directed by Juanjo Gimenez
“Imago,” directed by Raymund Gutierrez
“Madre,” directed by Simon Mesa Soto
“The Girl Who Danced with the Devil,” directed by Joao Paolo Miranda Maria
“Apres Suzanne,” directed by Felix Moati
“The End of the World,” directed by Catalin Rotaru and Gabi Virginia Sarga
“The Silence,” directed by Farnoosh Samadi and Ali Asgari
Fight on a Swedish Beach, directed by Simon Vahlne


Facebook Comments
Be Sociable, Share!

One Reply to “Brillante Mendoza to compete at Cannes 2016”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *